Im not sure if this will be of any help. History is cleared yes but it is not gone for ever. In your cookies you will see a file called index.dat If you open it with notepad there is a record of all the sites you have been to. Now if you are running a program like CCleaner it keeps index.dat clean so the history will be lost from there. Thats one place that I know you can see were you have been once history is deleted though.
Like I said, open Index.dat in your cookies folder with Notepad and have a look see if the info is there. The page may look blank when you open it but scroll down the page, its there if you arent using something to clean it. After talking to a Microsoft MVP and him making an inquey with other MVP's you do lose your history permanently once you delete it