Page 1 of 1

Users

PostPosted: Sun Jan 18, 2004 8:38 pm
by AlexJP
I used to have usernames and areas assigned to each member of my family on ME. this slowed down my pc so I deleted all the users. Even though there are no users to click on or use, the window in which u would normally click your username still appears on start up. How can I get rid of it?

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 5:01 am
by brad
Try Control Panel / Network / Access Control tab / Check All users share the same settings. (Or to that effect....going from memory)
brad

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 5:47 pm
by Restek
The other thing to check is in network (within control panel) make sure 'primary windows logon' is set to 'windows logon'

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 7:06 pm
by AlexJP
sorry guys, a) those settings are already in order b) it still appears on startup

PostPosted: Mon Jan 19, 2004 8:41 pm
by brad
If you're wanting to get rid of the Log-on Window:

To prevent Windows from prompting you for a password at startup:

Click Start / Settings / Control Panel / Double Click "Network" .


On the Configuration tab, click Windows Logon in the Primary Network Logon box, and then click OK .


When you are prompted to restart your computer, click No .


In Control Panel, double-click Passwords .


On the Change Passwords tab, click Change Windows Password , select any of the check boxes that you want, and then click OK .

NOTE : If you cancel the network logon dialog box when you start your computer, the Change Passwords tab may not be available. You must log on so that the Change Passwords tab is available.


In the Change Windows Password dialog box, type your current Windows password in the Old Password box. Leave the New Password and Confirm New Password boxes blank, click OK , and then click OK .

brad