It is currently Fri Sep 21, 2018 5:07 am


installing ram

All computer hardware support

installing ram

Postby krisee » Sun Feb 19, 2012 6:32 pm

first of im new to this site so id just like to say a big hello to every1

now my problem is
ive got an old dell optiplex gx240 which has a intel pentuim 4 1.50ghz cpu 1.50ghz,256mb ram which im trying to upgrade with 2x homputer bay 512mb pc133 sdram 133mhz non ecc when i install them everything is fine for a couple of minutes the new ram is recognized on the system but them a blue screen appears informing me that-
that a problem has been detected and windows has shut down to protect my pc
check for adecquate disk space
check for any bios updates

beginning physical memory dump
contact support
a friend advised me it could be the bios which i know it has bios version A05 and level 2 cache but apart from that im lost can ne1 help plz
ps. im running xp pro if it helps
krisee
Newbie
Newbie
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Feb 19, 2012 4:45 pm

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Re: installing ram

Postby Gecko » Sun Feb 19, 2012 11:08 pm

krisee,

I would suggest that you try just one stick of Ram, then boot the system and see if it runs ok, then try the other stick.
It sound like it would be more like a rem issue than a BOOS issue, if it was the BIOS then I don't think the system would boot.
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top


Return to Hardware

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests

cron