It is currently Mon Sep 24, 2018 8:36 am


LAN and PPPOE connection - Fedora Core4

All versions of Linux, Mac OS and Unix

Moderator: PCguy

LAN and PPPOE connection - Fedora Core4

Postby patkim » Fri Apr 20, 2007 8:14 am

I have Fedora Core 4 on Athlon XP 2000 based PC, dual boot with XP.
Mobo is Biostar M7NCG400 with on board nVidia LAN controller

The Fedora Core 4 detects LAN device as ‘eth0’ but fails to initialize the same during boot up. It’s set as DHCP at the time of setup.

I use Broadband Internet over PPPOE & connect using its userid/password on XP.
I would like to know if it is possible to configure LAN and PPPOE connection in Fedora Core 4.
Thanks,
User avatar
patkim
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Gecko » Fri Apr 20, 2007 12:40 pm

Hi patkim,

You will need to download the correct drivers from Nvidia from Here
Then you will need to load the forcedeth.c driver for your nvidia lan chipset.
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top

Postby patkim » Sat Apr 21, 2007 11:42 am

Thanks Gecko, I installed the drivers..but sadly now I am confronted by yet another problem.
I have Nvidia 6200 AGP card. So I also installed the required AGP Driver for Linux and also modified the xorg.conf file accordingly as per readme documentation.

Now after reboot, it asks for root password to run some config routine and then errors out saying ‘error creating netlink socket - permission denied’

The screen remains on that display and nothing happens thereafter.
So practically I can’t boot into Linux.
Is there any way I can revert back to the original generic VGA driver?
Thanks,
User avatar
patkim
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 102
Joined: Thu Feb 05, 2004 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Gecko » Sat Apr 21, 2007 12:28 pm

patkim,

I believe this problem is related to SELinux. Try booting with SELinux disabled.

You can modify selinux status on the fly by using the command:

setenforce 0
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top


Return to Linux, Mac and Unix

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron