It is currently Mon Jul 16, 2018 3:41 pm


Wi-Fi Security Question

Discuss security related topics in here (Hacking, Cracking, and Protecting)
Do not post HJT Logs here

Moderator: PCguy

Wi-Fi Security Question

Postby jemmo » Sun Dec 02, 2007 11:44 pm

I have broadband with a router/modem that has wireless capability.
I don't use anything that is wireless but ocasionally the icon on the router flashes indicating that a wireless connection is in use. The router instruction manual says this may occur when nothing is connected, but the other day, with the PC switched off, the wireless icon was flashing along with the icons indicating internet connection and data transfer.
I always have my firewall switched on, but is there anything else I can do that will disable the wireless feature?
Jemmo
jemmo
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Gecko » Mon Dec 03, 2007 1:02 am

jemmo,

Sound like you might have a Warrior using your internet.

The vary least you should do is setup up security for the wireless connection.

It will depend on the type of router you have.
This link should get you to the router login : http://192.168.1.1
Your manual should have the default name and password.

Once you're logged in look for wireless settings or wireless security.
You should be able to select WEP 64bits or WPA-personal, and enter a password

Some routers do have the option to turn off wireless.
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top

Postby jemmo » Mon Dec 03, 2007 8:30 pm

Thanks for your reply.
I will look into that and post the results.
Jemmo
jemmo
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby jemmo » Mon Dec 03, 2007 8:35 pm

Absolutely correct - there is a checkbox setting in the Wireless config that was set to 'Enabled'. I just unchecked it and the Wireless icon on the router has turned off.

For anyone else with this query this is with a BT Total Broadband hub. The config settings are accessed via the Hub Manager software.
Jemmo
jemmo
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top


Return to Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron