It is currently Tue Oct 21, 2014 11:18 am


spyware maybe?

Discuss security related topics in here (Hacking, Cracking, and Protecting)
Do not post HJT Logs here

Moderator: PCguy

Postby Gecko » Wed May 16, 2007 12:32 pm

lilchica805,

Let's see if we can repair Internet Explorer 6.

Click start and then click run, now copy and paste the below red text into the text box in the run command box.
rundll32 setupwbv.dll,IE6Maintenance "C:\Program Files\Internet Explorer\Setup\SETUP.EXE" /g "C:\WINDOWS\IE Uninstall Log.Txt"

Now click OK, a small window will popup, put a check next to "Repair Internet Explorer"
Now click the OK button and follow the on screen instructions.
Once the repair is finished please reboot your system and check IE to see if this helped.
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5152
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top

Postby lilchica805 » Wed May 16, 2007 7:57 pm

alright, i tried that a couple times and i got:

"specified module could not be found"....
lilchica805
Geek in Training
Geek in Training
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:23 am
Location: Berkeley, Ca

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Gecko » Thu May 17, 2007 12:36 am

lilchica805,

I was hoping that old command would still work :(
Before I have you remove and then reinstall IE or upgrade to IE7, lets check some other things like ram usage.

Close all other IE instances except for the one you are using to view this.

Press the Ctrl + Alt + Delete keys at the same time to bring up Windows task manager.
Now select the Performance tab, in the "Physical Memory (K)" section please note what each one is:
Total:
Available:
System Cache:

Now in the "CPU Usage" section note if the % usage rises and falls a lot or if it just stays steady more or less.

Next, still in the same task manager window select the "Process" tab, look to make sure you have only one instance of IE (IExplorer.exe) running.
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5152
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top

Postby lilchica805 » Wed May 23, 2007 5:53 am

Total: 515564
Available: 170864
System Cache: 177988

CPU ussage drops and rises from about 2 to 9 to 16%

and theres only one internet explorer under processes.
lilchica805
Geek in Training
Geek in Training
 
Posts: 21
Joined: Tue Mar 13, 2007 3:23 am
Location: Berkeley, Ca

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Gecko » Thu May 24, 2007 11:45 am

lilchica805,

It looks like you have enough memory installed so that's not it.
With only one IE running then it's not some rouge spyware.

It could be a conflict between third-party browser extensions.

In Internet Explorer go to tools and select Manage Add-ons Disable half of them and see if it goes away. If not re enable the first half and disable the second half. If it goes away then enable half of that half and so on.
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5152
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top

Postby D_N_M » Fri Jun 15, 2007 2:18 am

Could I suggest to you to try an alternate browser such as Firefox?
it is much more secure than internet explorer.
here is the link

http://www.firefox2008.com/us/

Just a recommendation

D_N_M
D_N_M
Geek
Geek
 
Posts: 44
Joined: Sun Apr 08, 2007 6:09 pm
Location: U.S.A

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Previous

Return to Security

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron