It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 3:09 am


Plug in not found

All versions of Window XP and 2003 including 32 bit and 64 bit

Moderator: icecube

Plug in not found

Postby jemmo » Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:05 pm

I am running W98 SE and have IE 5. I am currently trying to complete a Tax Return form (big YAWN!), but when I try and click on any link (at www.inlandrevenue.gov.uk) I get 'The plug-in could not be found', and then 'The plug-in was found but could not initialise'. From then on, whatever I click on brings up the latter message.
The only thing I can click on that does anything is the close X.
Anyone any ideas?
Can someone try this and see if it the site or my machine please?

Cheers all

Jemmo
Jemmo
jemmo
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby brad » Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:15 pm

All the Links on that site seem to work for me. Have you thought about either repairing IE or, better yet, updating it?
brad
"Duty is a matter of the mind. Commitment is a matter of the heart".
brad
Geek Alumni
 
Posts: 2079
Joined: Sat Jul 19, 2003 1:00 am
Location: Charlotte, NC

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Geekgirl » Mon Aug 23, 2004 9:23 pm

Hi jemmo Image

As brad suggested you can make sure that your Operating System and Internet Explorer are up-to-date by visiting the Windows Update Site and downloading all of the Critical Updates and Service Packs.
Geekgirl
Geek Alumni
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Cactus » Tue Aug 24, 2004 12:30 am

Hey...the links work fine.
Check this link:
http://gsaauctions.gov/brow_details/IE6instr.htm

Cactus
User avatar
Cactus
Geek Alumni
 
Posts: 1330
Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 1:00 am
Location: Somewhere...

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby jemmo » Tue Aug 24, 2004 9:14 pm

Hi gang.

I have downloaded IE 6 and the plug in issue has been resolved. Thanks for the info.
The only problem now is I am getting SOOOO MANY pop ups it is seriously slowing my machine down. Anyone know where I can get a pop up ad blocker?
Jemmo
jemmo
Senior Geek
Senior Geek
 
Posts: 122
Joined: Tue Feb 24, 2004 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Geekgirl » Tue Aug 24, 2004 9:41 pm

Hi jemmoImage
Glad you got your plug in issue resolved :wink:


If you haven't scanned you computer for viruses lately Update your virus definitions and scan your computer.

You can try this free online scanner using Trend Micro


--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Download / Install / Update / and Run:

SpyBot
And:
Adaware


If you're still having problems with your pop-ups:

Download and install: HiJackThis .
Run it and post a copy of the Log File.

Our moderators will take a look at it.

(Always create a Folder for HiJackThis anywhere but your Temp/Temporary Internet Folders. A good place to make a folder would be in My Documents,as this is where it will save the backup files needed if there's a problem.)

Always describe your problem. Your description can go a long way to solving/repairing your particular issue.
Geekgirl
Geek Alumni
 
Posts: 1214
Joined: Mon Apr 12, 2004 1:00 am

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top


Return to Windows XP and 2003

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests

cron