It is currently Fri Jun 22, 2018 8:07 am


phpbb question

Help with Web Design, Programming, and Graphics

Moderator: Gecko

phpbb question

Postby badpolarbear » Wed Jul 13, 2005 8:06 pm

I just switched from a phpbb4free site to phpbb that my server allows me to use with my web hosting package. My question is two parts.

(1) Can I move members and posts from one place to the other or do they require to re-register and re-post?

(2) I downloaded the phpbb folder from the net. Where do I go with that folder? I use WS FTP for uploading to my site. Do I leave the folder on my pc or do I upload it to my site files. And if I upload it to my site where do I put it?
User avatar
badpolarbear
Executive Geek
Executive Geek
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Barrys Bay Ontario

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby lilpinkflower » Thu Jul 14, 2005 6:53 am

Hiyas badpolarbear :)

1. PHPBBforFree.com doesnt allow access to the DB. So all users will have to reregister.

2. You will need to decompress the phpBB 2.0 archive to a local directory on your PC. From there you must FTP all the files it contains (being sure to retain the directory structure) to your host. All .php, .inc, .sql, .cfg, .htm and .tpl files should be uploaded in ASCII mode, while all graphics should use binary mode. If you are unfamiliar with what this means, please refer to your FTP client documentation. In most cases this need not concern you since many FTP clients will automatically guess the correct mode to use.

Once all the files have been uploaded to your site you should point your browser to this location, eg. http://www.mysite.tld/phpBB2 or http://subdomain.mysite.tld/, etc. Of course replace these with the real location! Everything from this point is fully automated.

lilpink x
System specs:

Clovebud No.7, Max Factor Hypersmooth, L'Oreal Lash Architect, The Body Shop Poudre Libre, 17 Nude blusher and hair by Uppercutz.


Image
User avatar
lilpinkflower
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 1:00 am
Location: manchester, U.K

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby badpolarbear » Fri Jul 15, 2005 12:36 pm

With the first two questions being answered here is part three. Here is a screenshot of the folders for my site on the right. Where exactly should I upload the phpbb folder to?

Image
User avatar
badpolarbear
Executive Geek
Executive Geek
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Barrys Bay Ontario

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby lilpinkflower » Fri Jul 15, 2005 6:40 pm

I can't quite make out some of the folders on the right. ( I have that same problem with screenshots :| )
Perhaps if you have a fiddle and see if you can make them clearer... alternatively do the old fashioned thing and type them out for us... a drag I know.

Ta

lilpink x
System specs:

Clovebud No.7, Max Factor Hypersmooth, L'Oreal Lash Architect, The Body Shop Poudre Libre, 17 Nude blusher and hair by Uppercutz.


Image
User avatar
lilpinkflower
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 1:00 am
Location: manchester, U.K

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby badpolarbear » Fri Jul 15, 2005 9:59 pm

Get out the magnifying glass lilpink. Nah let me work on a clear version. While Im doing that have a look at this

Image
User avatar
badpolarbear
Executive Geek
Executive Geek
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Barrys Bay Ontario

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby lilpinkflower » Fri Jul 15, 2005 10:16 pm

awwwww it's dead sweet. We have nothing like that here... just the odd grey squirrel (well flippin millions of grey squirrels hehe)

lilpink x
System specs:

Clovebud No.7, Max Factor Hypersmooth, L'Oreal Lash Architect, The Body Shop Poudre Libre, 17 Nude blusher and hair by Uppercutz.


Image
User avatar
lilpinkflower
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 1:00 am
Location: manchester, U.K

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby badpolarbear » Sat Jul 16, 2005 12:19 pm

Well after fooling around with this post I went on an explore mission on my site folders and found my server has already uploaded it for me in httpsdocs. So that ends this problem. Now all I need to do is figure out how to access it from the forum.
User avatar
badpolarbear
Executive Geek
Executive Geek
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Barrys Bay Ontario

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby lilpinkflower » Sun Jul 17, 2005 7:01 am

Brilliant. Let us know if you need any help :)

lilpink x
System specs:

Clovebud No.7, Max Factor Hypersmooth, L'Oreal Lash Architect, The Body Shop Poudre Libre, 17 Nude blusher and hair by Uppercutz.


Image
User avatar
lilpinkflower
Moderator
Moderator
 
Posts: 1603
Joined: Wed Apr 07, 2004 1:00 am
Location: manchester, U.K

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Gecko » Sun Jul 17, 2005 12:29 pm

Looking good bpb
Here is a little something I made real quick for you forum header

Image
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top

Postby badpolarbear » Sun Jul 17, 2005 1:43 pm

Wow Gecko, very nice, now how do I get it upon the site?

Im having some real problems getting this up and running. I tried to do the avatar thing and keep getting this jibberish.

Image

Its obvious Ive taken on a task that I have no idea about. I appreciate people having a look, but I am also asking members of other forums I belong to not to join. The site is going to be mostly for friends, relatives and members of my local community.
User avatar
badpolarbear
Executive Geek
Executive Geek
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Barrys Bay Ontario

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Gecko » Sun Jul 17, 2005 7:14 pm

You need to chmod the images/avatars directory to 777
You can use ws_ftp to change the write permissions (chmod) the directory.

PS Sorry I tried to join before I read this post :shock:
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top

Postby Gecko » Sun Jul 17, 2005 7:52 pm

To use the logo I made you need to replace the logo_phpBB.gif in the
"templates/subSilver/images" directory on the server
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top

Postby badpolarbear » Sun Jul 17, 2005 7:56 pm

I am honored you joined Gecko, wow, thats the last thing I expected.. The reason I asked people not to join was recruiting is frowned upon by other sites. I choose to be not frowned upon.

I would say though that your help to develope the site would be greatly appreciated. I need all the help I can get. I want to learn really bad. All I want is simple.
User avatar
badpolarbear
Executive Geek
Executive Geek
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Barrys Bay Ontario

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby badpolarbear » Mon Jul 18, 2005 7:19 pm

Ok Gecko, I fixed it, You sent me in the right direction but you missed a turn. I had to go to my httpdocs> Forums> Images> then right click Avatars> Properties and put check marks in the Read, Write, Execute boxes. It would not allow me to change the numbers from 755 to 777 in the box where they were. Its working fine now.

Now Im not quite sure I can figure out how to change the logo. Do you not have to send me the gif and I have to upload it to the phpbb folder?

My next item on the agenda is to add some kind of image in my ranks. I have some ranks set up but not sure how to add the little stars or where to find them for that matter.
User avatar
badpolarbear
Executive Geek
Executive Geek
 
Posts: 667
Joined: Mon Feb 23, 2004 1:00 am
Location: Barrys Bay Ontario

Thanks given:0
Thanks received:0
Top

Postby Gecko » Mon Jul 18, 2005 8:07 pm

Right click the logo I made and save it to your desktop.

Now start up ws_ftp login to your site, in the right pane go to:
Httpdocs > Forums> templates > subSilver > images
In the left pane go to the saved logo on your desktop
Now transfer the file, click OK to overwrite the file.
User avatar
Gecko
Super Moderator
Super Moderator
 
Posts: 5209
Joined: Thu Oct 25, 2001 1:00 am
Location: Florida, USA

Thanks given:1
Thanks received:23
Top

Next

Return to Web Development

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest

cron